Flock and Herd logo


View original article here

Warialda Standard and Northern Districts' Advertiser, Monday 30 March 1931, page 2

Stock Inspectors Conference


The Inspectors of Stock, assembled in Sydney on Tuesday for their annual conference, were keenly disappointed that detention at a Cabinet engagement prevented the Minister for Agriculture, Mr Dunn, from keeping the appointment to open the meeting.

The expectation of all was that Mr. Dunn would have enlightened them regarding the future of the P. P. Boards, which the Government proposes to abolish.

Mr. C. J. Woollett (President), in asking Mr. Max Henry, Chief Veterinary Surgeon, to fill the breach, spoke of their regard for his administrative services, and appreciation of the improvement that had taken place in the relations between the department, the boards, and stockowners.

Mr. Henry referred chiefly to the value of the stock inspectors in the field, pointing out that practically all their activities meant greater economic returns from the livestock industries.

Mr. Pratt, stock owners representative on the Tick Board of Control, remarked upon the spirit of confidence that had developed between stockowners and departmental officers, which had resulted in a greater spirit of cooperation.

The balance of the morning session was devoted to helpful discussions initiated by Mr. E. A. Lucas (Warialda), in which the inspectors exchanged experiences on uncommon phases of various diseases and also stock poisoning from weeds.

Stock owners spend uselessly very large sums of money on "cure alls" and "shotgun" medicines peddled about the country, especially in dairying districts. This was the theme of the presidential address of Mr. C. J. Woollett, and of the truth of it, he said, he was the more convinced since his appointment to a Far North Coast district.

The following officers were elected: Pres., Mr. C. J. Woollett (Lismore); vice-presidents, Mr. C. W. Sabine (Grafton), Mr. F. Foster (Goulburn) ; treasurer, Mr. C. J. Woollett ; Council, P. T. Yeoman (Narrandera), H. Kennan (Glen Innes), J. Falkner (Sydney), L. Devlin (Casino), E. A. Lucas (Warialda), F. Hildred (Hay), A. Hesain (Merriwa), H. Copeland (Moree), F. J. Madden (Tamworth), E, Quinn (Coonamble).


Site contents and design Copyright 2006-19©